Spring!

Standard

So, needless to say I’m kind of bad at regularly posting updates. But it’s the effort that counts, right?

Since my last post, the weather has made a turn for the better. We had to have winter parking restrictions here in Minneapolis, which basically means that the snow piles alongside the roads have gotten so out of hand that we can only park on one side to conserve space. How insane! However, I do love living in a city where the second the temperature hits 40, everyone is outside hanging out and playing around. I made it home to Pennsylvania for a long weekend, spending some much needed time with friends. Since returning, I’ve gotten back into the groove of classes and turning 24! My birthday consisted of hockey, dining, and going out with friends. Aka, it was absolutely perfect.

My herbs are… well some of them are doing well! Basil, cilantro, and oregano all popped up like it was nothing. Mint, thyme and parsley don’t seem to be so concerned with germinating. I’ve tried planting new seeds again, so if they don’t pop up after this round I’ll probably just go to Whole Foods and cheat with some that are already grown for me. 

Image

I keep them all in fish bowls because I have a ton of them thanks to having fish all of my college career. 

Today I went on an awesome cooking binge. I spent way too much money at the grocery store on produce and healthy foods, but I suppose you gotta invest the money if you want the results! Started off making a sort of panzanella-style dish. Chopped up cucumbers, onions, tomatoes, and a little mozzarella (because life is always better with mozzarella) and added some balsamic vinaigrette! 

Image

 

Afterwards, I went to town making pan-seared brussel sprouts with cranberries, pecans, and a maple/balsamic glaze! It 

Image

 

It was shockingly easy. Cut the sprouts in half, cook for 10 minutes with olive oil, and a tablespoon of syrup and balsamic, stir in your desired amount of cranberries, Gorgonzola, pecans, and then top it all off with a cup of barley! My favorite type of cooking is the “toss this in a pan, then toss this in a pan, then stir” style with little thought and a whole lot of taste.

My partner and I have also been gearing up for our trip to Italy in a month and a half! Our parents helped us out in order to send us there for our graduations, and we’re both absolutely ecstatic. So if you have tips about Italy, travelling, or any of the related topics please feel free to share! I’ve been lucky enough to have quite a few experiences in Europe, but there’s always room for improvement. 

Anyways, here’s some good recipes, exercises, and thoughts I’ve come across lately. I hope everyone is off to a great spring!

Made these stuffed red peppers earlier this week. The stuffing was a bit bland, so I definitely recommend adding in a few more spices to the mix!

The recipe for the brussel sprouts I made! I improvised on a few ingredients and tossed in more of the extras than the recipe calls for to make it more of a meal than a side.

How I’m getting my triceps ready for those summer dresses!

A 9-minute mile playlist! I always love music tips to keep me on pace.

My workout for a rainy day

The Happiness Effect 

Pictures of Underwater Dogs. Because everyone needs that in their life.

Leave a comment